DOMOTEX 2015 (17 to 20 January)
Winners of the Carpet Design Awards 2015 announced
–         Competition celebrates the world’s most beautiful handmade carpets
–         Award ceremony at DOMOTEX on 18 January (Hannover, Germany)

Hannover. The winners of the “Carpet Design Awards presented by [email protected] 2015” have been announced! On Sunday, 18 January, prizes were awarded to the world’s best designer carpets in eight categories by an international jury of carpet and design experts. Honoring outstanding quality and unique design, the most prestigious international awards for modern handmade carpets were presented at DOMOTEX – the world’s leading trade fair for floor coverings – for the tenth year. Prizes were given in categories such as studio artist designs, traditional and modern carpets and rugs, and best innovation. The public will also be able to select their favorite at the end of DOMOTEX.

df387d889R58fR3P8f7ff88bw8bdqh7P9f5R8dmfo2s1vPdfi8yRnfs2odvdzhuR9bkbxbbbMore than 250 designer pieces from 23 countries were submitted in the competition for the coveted trophies, with 25 carpets reaching the final round. The carpets will be on display throughout DOMOTEX in a special area of Hall 17. The eight winning designs impressed the expert jury with outstanding characteristics in terms of form, color and material. The carpets were judged with regard to design and design concept, material, finish, texture and quality, as well as sustainability and branding.

The head of the Carpet Design Awards jury, Michael Sodeau, who heads his own design practice in London, said of the judging process: “This year the panel consisted of people with hugely different skill sets all of whom work in different countries. This meant that everyone’s professional experience was quite different, and sharing our opinions was very engaging and informative, and I think has led to an interesting range of results.”

The eight winners received their awards at a prestigious ceremony in the presence of international guests from the retail and design sectors of the international carpet industry.  A keenly anticipated event every year, the presentation of the Carpet Design Awards is one of the highlights of the world’s leading trade fair for carpets and floor coverings.

This year, the prize-giving ceremony was for the first time held as part of the [email protected] showcase. [email protected] offers companies the unique opportunity to spotlight their innovations vis-à-vis a choice international audience of professionals at the world’s leading trade fair for carpets and floor coverings. The format provides a highly appealing, tangible means of conveying the sector’s innovative spirit. Not only that, but featured exhibitors benefit from considerably more exposure and crowd-pulling potential for their latest products and trailblazing innovations. Being part of [email protected] also makes it far easier to get in touch with interested retailers, craftspeople and architects, thus stimulating new business and valuable networking. [email protected] participants benefit from high-impact publicity not only during, but also before and after the show.

The Carpet Design Awards 2015 winners:

01 Best Studio Artist Design
Ayka Design, My secret Garden

02 Best Modern Design Superior
Naziri, Waves of Colour

03 Best Modern Design Deluxe
RUG STAR by Jürgen Dahlmanns, Heart No. 01 Original

04 Best Traditional Design
Art Resources, Classic Revival

05 Best Transitional Design
Naziri, Nouveau Tabriz

06 Best Modern Collection
Wool and Silk, Steppe

07 Best Traditional Collection
RUG STAR by Jürgen Dahlmanns, The Great Gatsby

08 Best Innovation
Ayka Design, Circles of Life